My Next Car Will Be Powered by Bio-diesel If I Have To Make It Myself

b100.jpgIn my research of bio-diesel this is what I have uncovered so far.

Bio-diesel is a blend of regular diesel fuel and a vegetable or plant oil; cotton seed oil, corn oil, peanut oil and others.

The blends very from a 5% blend, known as B5 (mix of 5% plant oil and 95% petroleum diesel), to a 100% plant oil, known as B100.

Bio-diesel is a biodegradable.

Bio-diesel is a non-toxic fuel.

It produces far fewer emissions when burned compared to petroleum based fuels.

In fact, B100 is so non-toxic that the cotton farmers in Texas that are using B100 to plow their fields are actually providing nutrients to their crops and making the soil richer.

Bio-diesel is the future…Not Hydrogen or Electric

I see a truly renewable resource in bio-diesel unlike hydrogen and electricity.

Hydrogen is only available in certain parts of the world which is our problem now with petroleum fuel. Hydrogen also comes with a huge cost for the infrastructure to distribute it and for the cars to run on it.

Electricity is expensive. I don’t know about you but I don’t want to see my already ridiculous power bill go up even more just so I can charge my car to go to work in the morning. And let’s face facts, hydrogen and electric cars are gutless wonders with horrible horse power making them impossible to drive on a city freeway where the average speed is 65 or better.

Bio-diesel has a lot more potential.

vw.jpgBio-diesel can run in any diesel engine on the market today. The only sad fact is that the only diesel engine that can run on B100 is the diesel engine made by Volkswagen. So, what about Ford, Chevy, and Dodge? The power houses of American cars. Their diesel engines will run on bio-diesel, you just have to use a blend not pure bio-diesel like the Volkswagen.

* Use caution when using bio-diesel for the first time in a car/truck that normally runs on regular diesel – – the natural oils used to make bio-diesel are great natural solvents that will clean your pipes through and through. You’ll need a tune-up before that first tank is gone. But after that, you and your car/truck will be fine.*

Also, bio-diesel can be distributed just as easily as regular diesel fuel or petroleum based fuels. The only problem standing in the way is consumer demand. If we ask for it, they will provide it. It’s the nature of the game.

My next car will be powered by bio-diesel if I have to make it myself.

A few years ago, we had a gasoline shortage here in the valley of the sun due to a pipeline brake. This created a huge mess as you can imagine; panic, price gauging, even leading to violence in some areas. After spending several hours in the 100 degree sun, pushing my car because I had run out of gas waiting for my turn at the pump, I told myself that my next car would not run on gas.

So naturally, the selling point for bio-diesel to me is that you can make your own bio-diesel in your garage. It’s safe and seems easy enough. I will do more research of course, before I actually dig in. But if you’re interested you can read more at Journey for Life or at Collaborative Bio-diesel.

~Be the Change You want to See!

| | | |

11 responses to this post.

  1. Nice post. I was obsessed with owning a turbo 300D (circa 1985) for about 3 months this summer. The car is essentially indestructible and looks so pretty too. The big issue though, is that I live in NJ, and 20 years of harsh winters mean that most of the bodies on these cars are in horrible condition.

    Reply

  2. My brother-in-law, in a moment of insomnia, did a bunch of web research and whipped up a small batch himself. He tested it out using the paper wick test, and lo and behold it appears to work!

    I like your blog. I plan to check it out more often.

    Reply

  3. Posted by ThomasD on February 10, 2007 at 4:32 am

    Hi,

    A mate at work is using bio-diesel in his RV (in Holland) for
    quite some time now.
    It runs on used fat from a restaurant. After extensive filtering that is…
    I don’t know whatkind of mix he uses, only that he runs pure diesel in the winter.
    I’ll ask him when I see him again.

    Reply

  4. Bravo! I would love to have a motorcycle that runs on bio-diesel!

    Reply

  5. Great comments! Thanks for posting!

    What makes me frustrated with bio-diesel is that the diesel engine that runs on plant oil has been around for more than 100 years! It’s true! I was surprised to learn this and a little bit frustrated, too. We could have completely avoided all the crap that petroleum fuel has brought with it; environmental damage, wars over oil, dependency on foreign oil, and so on.

    Check out these 2 links on Wikipedia:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diesel_engine
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rudolf_Diesel

    Reply

  6. My fiance has a friend who makes bio-diesel. It’s pretty cool if you think about it.

    Reply

  7. It is true that biodiesel is a great way to power your car. I reserve judgement about it being the “fuel of the future”, although it’s got to be part of the mix. I’ve been running my Ford Fiesta 1.4 tdci on 50% BD for a few months now without problems.

    However, any more than that and the modern engine as currently configured won’t cope.

    Also, you need to consider where the crops are going to be grown to produce all this fuel (same goes for ethanol). There simply isn’t enough land available (even if we take the drastic step of cutting remaining rain forests) to grow crops capable of fuelling all our vehicles 😦

    hydrogen from water, electricity from renewables and just driving less are also going to be needed.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Sean on February 11, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    How does any of this make sense?

    “And let’s face facts, hydrogen and electric cars are gutless wonders with horrible horse power making them impossible to drive on a city freeway where the average speed is 65 or better.”

    http://www.teslamotors.com

    Electric motors are remarkable in that they have a perfectly flat torque curve. That means that the maximum amount of Torque is available at ANY RPM (read from a stand still) rather than having to be at some higher RPM like gasoline and diesel engines. Far from gutless, most modern locomotives use diesel generators to create electricity to drive electric motors.

    Your argument that you don’t want to drive your electricity bill up doesn’t make any sense when you consider the savings of not having to purchase gas, or the raw materials to make bio-diesel. Adding to that, you can make electricity in your home far easier and safter than brewing up a vat o’ bio-diesel. And all of this comes with absolutely no emissions.

    I agree that bio-diesel is an alternative fuel for the future, but electricity makes far more sense.

    Reply

  9. Having said that, if we all went vegetarian, we’d free-up a good deal of land for planting biofuel crops !

    Reply

  10. Valid points, all of them. However, I still think that bio-diesel is our best resource, especially for the immediate future.

    First, bio-diesel doesn’t only come from raw material. We wouldn’t need to cut back any more forest for crops because we can also create bio-diesel from waste vegetable oil (WVO). Literally taking the used cooking oil and making bio-diesel from that. Just think of the tons of used cooking oil from one McDonalds…

    Second, hydrogen…no way. Healthy, clean drinking water is already a depleting resource. The last thing I want to do is drink a glass of water that has ran through a car.

    Third, electricity is expensive. You can make bio-diesel in your garage for less than a dollar a gallon with equipment from Home Depot for a one time purchse price of less than $200. Can electricity beat that?

    Reply

  11. I would really like to have more public transit avalible. In my county, they just came out with a new hybrid bus fleet. They’re nice, but they definately would have to make the buses stop by every half hour (instead of what they currently run; one-two hours) for the people living here to see it as convienient. Plus, they don’t run after 6 p.m., so you’re SOL if you work later than that. It takes me one hour to drive myself to college, but two hours and 15 minutes to take the bus. And I have to wait an hour to get a ride.

    However, I think anyone who drives around to run errands in an SUV or a Hummer is psycho. And unfortunately, we have many of them where I live. I had a stupid lady back into my car with her GIGANTIC black SUV, because she “wasn’t looking, was talking to her daughter.” WTF?

    Anyhoo, thanls for the post…It helped answer a few questions I had about biodiesel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

