10 Ways to Use Baking Soda as a Beauty Product

toothbrush.jpg

In my previous posts I have suggested ways to use baking soda, one of nature’s best products, to clean your home – your kitchen, your bathroom, and your laundry. But baking soda can be used as a health and beauty product as well.

Back in the day, baking soda was one of the only beauty products available to clean your teeth, clean your hair, use as a mouthwash, and use in your bath to soften your skin.

10 ways to use baking soda as a health and beauty product

This article has been moved to our new home on the web. To continue reading click here or go to http://www.itstolivegreen.com

10 responses to this post.

  1. Great tip about the baking soda for sunburn.

    I use baking soda instead of or with a tiny bit of dishwasher soap (to stop grease build up) in my dishwasher. I also boost it with citric acid powder. That is the ingredient that is in tang and a few other things that are sometimes recommended for natural cleaning power. (I got the idea when I read an article about using a pack of tang drink crystals to clean the dishwasher)

    I find that the baking soda actually works better than dish soap, I don’t get the food pieces in my cup (I can always tell when someone has used only dishwasher soap because I am washing cups!)

    Reply

  2. I just recently got sunburned over the weekend and and I’m so glad I had some baking soda around. It was very soothing.

    Thanks for the extra tips! I need to try them out. Using baking soda in the dishwasher to help cut grease! What a great idea!

    Reply

  3. Some years ago my hair suddenly got really greasy. I don’t know why but it coincided with me taking EPO. The more I washed my hair the worse it got. I had to wear a hat so people couldn’t seem my greasy hair.

    I then bought an Aveda detox shampoo but that didn’t work either. So I looked on the net and found that if you put some bicarb of soda in your shampoo that helps clean your hair.

    So I gave it a go and it worked amazingly well. 10/10.

    Reply

  4. Thanks so much for the information placed on your website.I couldn’t just open another site because i’m so many good,pretty stuff and getting more out of it.Keep it up.

    Reply

  5. Very useful and informative blog. Recommended for all to see.
    http://medsdrugs.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  6. Posted by Michelle on November 4, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    I need a natural remedy for coffe stained mustaches. This man has a white thick coarse mustache.

    Reply

  7. Thanks for all the tips. I got burned last weekend and we’ve got a trip planned for this weekend so I’ve got to heal fast. I’m going to try the baking soda bath. I’ve been using aloe and an after sun lotion while drinking lots of water. The itch is still driving me crazy.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Aurora on April 16, 2008 at 6:20 am

    Where does one purchase Cream of Tartar in large amounts economically?
    I was only able to find it at a bulk store and it was $4 for a couple oz!
    2 cups for bath salts would be very expensive.

    Reply

  9. Aurora –
    I usually find cream of tartar at a whole foods store. But you can also get it online in larger quantities at amazon.com. At amazon go to “Gourmet Foods” and search for cream of tartar or copy and paste the URL bellow.

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw?url=search-alias%3Dgourmet&field-keywords=cream+of+tartar&x=6&y=25

    Thanks for the comment!
    diy naturally

    Reply

  10. I read that baking soda can be used as a dry shampoo in between washings. Have you heard this?

    Reply

Leave a comment