Wal-Mart “Organics” – Buyer Beware!

Wal-Mart is up to their old tricks and muddying the label of Organic.

Wal-Mart Organics

Shown above – Natural Sugar is labeled as “organic” by this in-store signage at the Wal-Mart Supercenter in Tomah, WI. This mislabeling was identified on January 14, 2007. This photo was taken along with many others by The Cornucopia Institute, one of the nation’s largest organic watchdog groups. See more photos.

This article has been moved to our new home on the web. To continue reading click here or go to http://www.itstolivegreen.com

5 responses to this post.

  1. Good Post! That is very, very deceptive advertising. The problem is that your average Joe doesn’t really seem to know/care enough to look beyond (or in some cases look at) the label. The other issue is that when articles tackle the subject of deceptive use of “organic,” it makes consumers doubt the entire organic food industry’s validity.

    Reply

  2. I totally agree! I was hesitant to post anything about Wal-Mart “organics” for just that reason. But I think its better that people know about these things so they will be more aware and maybe become more diligent about checking labels.

    Reply

  3. Posted by red_967 on January 26, 2007 at 12:28 am

    I just stumbled on this site. I was in Walmart the other day (we don’t have the grocery store Walmarts where I live) and I saw they are advertising “Organic cotton” socks for 99 cents a pair! If I had believed it for one second, I would have bought out the supply as I pay $6- $7 a pair for organic socks!

    Reply

  4. LOL – 99 cents! I wouldn’t believe it either.

    Reply

  5. I am looking for organic socks like I bought at Wal-mart right after
    Christmas. When I went back to get some more the whole
    display was gone. Where can I find some more?????

    Reply

Leave a comment